Rock n Roll Liverpool 5km, half marathon and 1 mile 2017 Race Review

I now understand how people snowball from casual collector to full blown hoarder.
After my first trip to Liverpool for Beat the Reaper 10km I was eager to go back and I heard great things about the Rock n Roll race series so I signed up for the half marathon. Then they released a ‘remix challenge’ medal shaped like a guitar for doing the 5km on the Saturday and any race on the Sunday so I decided to take on that challenge. I thought that would be it but when I saw the 1 mile medal was a yellow submarine the hard core Beatles fan in me had to have it. On top of that GoodGym Camden trainer Paul offered us cheap charity places to the London 10,000 10km on the monday. So signing up to 1 half marathon turned into a weekend of 5 medals for 4 races in 3 days in 2 cities.2017-05-28-22-06-37.jpg

I couldn’t convince anyone I knew to join me in this craziness so I went to Liverpool on my own. I ended up couch surfing to keep my costs down since I spent so much on all the race entries so it was an especially intimidating trip. The best thing about racing with GoodGym is having others around you to make and follow plans. I have a hard time concentrating and an even harder time with directions so when travelling by myself there is always a risk of me forgetting something essential and/or getting tragically lost. This was definitely going to be an adventure for me.

The Rock n Roll Liverpool race series had their own app which had essential race info, updates and live tracking for runners. While searching for myself I noticed that yet again there was another Danica and that she was also doing both the 5km and the half marathon. I decided to envoke battle of the Danicas part 2- fighting for the crown of Beatletown. May the best Danica win.

Expo

rocknroll-liverpool-2017-11.jpg

I wish you fit me:(

I rushed to the Race Expo after my train arrived because I wanted to make sure I got a T-Shirt in my size. Turns out the race numbers had a ‘t-shirt ticket’ on them which states the size you ordered so there wasn’t a worry of the XS shirts running out. They even had a Shirt exchange if you didn’t like your size. It was all very organized and efficient. Unfortunately the shirts were ‘Unisex’ sizes so this eagerness was all in vain anyway. The unisex XS just like all ‘unisex’ shirts in my experience was massive on me as ‘unisex’ means men’s and therefore is meant to fit on someone with chromosomes that give them a wider chest and arms than I will ever have. I normally just consider this a minor annoyance but my heart was broken since this shirt had the most amazing Sgt. Pepper design and I had been looking forward to wearing it. I cursed all the men wearing their fitted shirts completely unaware of their race shirt privilege. I just want one race to have ‘unisex’ shirts that are actually women’s sizes and see how much the men complain about the fit. Get it together big race companies and stop alienating 50% of your clients!

Lucky for me this years race had a 60s theme to it to coincide with the 50th anniversary of Sgt Pepper and the summer of love. This meant everything was colorful and flowery and/or Beatles related so it was a dream come true.

My favorite part of the expo was an area where you could put on Sgt Pepper coats and take pictures with them. The jackets smelled like they already ran the marathon on a hot day but it was worth it to indulge my childhood dreams. I certainly felt like a child playing dress up as the coats were gigantic on me but I didn’t mind and loved the photos. RocknRoll Liverpool 2017 (10).jpg

They also had giant pictures of the race courses and start times that you could take pictures in front of which was handy for remembering when I needed to be there in the mornings and where.

Next to the posters was a wall that you were supposed to sign so I wrote a message of luck to all the other GoodGymers running and then drew a bunny because bunnies are awesome. RocknRoll Liverpool 2017 (5)

They had a stage and musicians playing but I didn’t stay long enough to hear their set. I was anxious to drop my bag off and rest up for my weekend of racing.

I decided to get into the rock n roll spirit and used a bunch of temporary tattoos that I had had around for ages. I was pleased with how they looked and it definitely helped get me in the mood. I’ll definitely be using tattoos again since they are a great way to dress up and have fun without the worry of makeup getting in your eyes or smudging off.

5km

They divided the 5km into two different start waves, one at 9:30am (the pink wave) and a second one at 10:00am (the green wave). I was in the 4th corral of the pink wave. I aimed to get there an hour before my wave started on Saturday morning but I ended up getting a bit lost and missing my train so I arrived at the race village at 9:00.

There was heightened security because of the Manchester attacks so everyone entering the expo and race village had to have their bags searched. This made for a very long queue so I was a bit worried. It took about 15-20 min to get through the bag search but luckily after that everything was smooth sailing. The baggage drop had no queue at all so even though I was later than I planned I still arrived early to the start line.

The weather was great and I didn’t feel cold in my vest and shorts. I knew that meant I was in for a warm race but I still enjoyed not starting off the morning like a grumpy Popsicle.

flat,800x800,075,f.u3

actual picture of me before a race when it’s cold out.

After I did a few dynamic stretches it was time to get into our starting corrals. The start was on the docks along the river so it was a lovely view. The radio station that MC’d the 5km did a great job of playing music and hyping us up. They must have worked wonders on me since I actually felt pumped when they played ‘Don’t Stop Believing’ and normally that song makes me want to punch things.

Before the first group started there was a moment of silence for Manchester. It was very emotional to have the loud start area suddenly go completely quiet with respect to those who lost their lives. Most of the runners, myself included wore yellow ribbons in solidarity. There was a strong sense of togetherness and resilience throughout the weekend’s races.

Soon we were off. I was at the front of my corral so it was a strange feeling having no one else in front of me in such a large race. I was surprised at how spread out the start was.

The first bit after turning away from the docks was on the busy road with cars still driving on the other side.  The air had really heated up at this point and was being amplified by the sun on the pavement. I definitely wasn’t going for any PBs. This was more of a chip-timed shakeout run than a full on race for me.0037

The course was enjoyable but the music throughout made it special.  I was happy to hear a band playing twist and shout somewhere along the first mile. Some runners beside me even started singing along so I joined them for a few bars but soon found out that running and singing don’t really mix.

It was almost deserted for the first mile then we hit a large patch of stragglers from the earlier start times and it became more congested. It’s usually the other way around where it starts off crowded and thins out. The crowding didn’t last long as we passed through the busy group but it never went back to how sparse it was at the start. It was still pretty spread out for a race of that size however.

Towards the end we headed back to the docks and passed by the Fab Four cafe and the Beatles statue. At least I’m told we passed by the statue since I didn’t see it on the run.

I had heard the finish was in Echo stadium so I wanted to save a bit of energy for the race finale since I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect. There was a very welcome downhill slope into the stadium where the finish line was seconds ahead. If I had known it was so close I might have sped up but I didn’t mind. This wasn’t a normal stadium finish either. The main lights were off and they had pink lights dancing around instead giving it  rave-like atmosphere. They also had Beatles music blaring so I was a very happy runner.Rock n roll liverpool 2017 (1)

We were immediately given our medals and instructed to keep moving along. They had a queue or the water and bananas which was a shame as I was very thirsty at this point. As always I had trouble opening the water bottle but luckily a nice man helped me out. Apparently there were other goodies too like supplement samples and peanut bars but I must have missed them.

The finish line brought us right to the expo again. I was told I needed to pick up a wristband after the 5km to get my remix challenge medal on Sunday so that worked out well. I had trouble finding where to get the wristband but luckily I asked a stranger and they were extremely helpful. My experience with strangers in Liverpool has been absolutely delightful. It makes me doubt London as an ideal residence for sure.Rock n roll liverpool 2017 (16)

Since I was already there I couldn’t resist taking another photo in a Sgt Pepper outfit. I went to go take a selfie with my 5km medal but a nice stranger offered to take the picture  and insisted I go in front of the colorful race backdrop. I’m glad he did since it turned out to be a nice moment captured.

rock-n-roll-liverpool-2017-7.jpg

After getting my wristband I met up with GoodGym Cardiff trainer Ben and Lucy. I had never met them before but knew Ben from the GoodGym facebook group. I soon found out from Ben and Lucy that the course for the 1st three corrals came up short. Apparently the first marshal took a wrong turn and everyone else followed which cut off about half a kilometer from the overall race distance. Lucky for me It was sorted out by the time my group went around the course but it’s such  shame that the faster runners were shortchanged so drastically. Ben was really aiming for a PB too so it was frustrating for this not to count. I hope they get significant discounts for next year.

Ben and Lucy were kind enough to let me tag along with them all day which was so much fun and definitely beat wandering around on my own. I super appreciated them including me. Lucy even gave me some of the goodies she picked up after the 5km which is how I found out I had missed out on the extras. The weather stayed sunny and warm for most of the afternoon so it was a perfect day to explore the city center wearing our medals.Rock n roll liverpool 2017 (29)

Half Marathon

The half marathon was the main event of the weekend for me. I had been training following Simon’s plan again so was well prepared but still felt nervous about it. The weather forecast had been changing around dramatically before the race date so I was pleasantly surprised to wake up to a cold grey morning. Only runners rejoice in dreary weather like this!

I had to get up extra early so I would have time to check my bag at the train station before making my way to the race village. There were strict baggage size limits that were even more selective than airline carry ons. My bag was just barely over and probably would have been ok but I decided not to risk it and to pay to keep it at the train station instead. It was worth it not to have to carry all my stuff for the 20 min walk from the train to the race village anyway.

I made it to the race village an hour ahead of my 9am start time which was a good thing considering how long the line was for baggage search. I’ve never seen a queue this size before! Security went as fast as they could and it moved fairly quickly but the size of the line meant we were waiting well over 30 min maybe even 40. I don’t fault the race organizers for this though as the added security was necessary. Feeling safe is more important than small queues.

Like the 5km the day before, the actually baggage check had no queue and was organized brilliantly. We were supposed to move outside immediately after checking our bags but I was bad and hid in a corner with a group of other runners to avoid the cold as long as possible. I braved the cold and headed out to the start area at about 8:45 but soon found out the race was starting 15-20 min late due to security delays.

I burrowed my way in the center of my corral to absorb as much heat as possible and shield out the wind. I was still freezing my butt off though and very eager to start running. A nice man I was next to told me I looked freezing and we started talking to pass the time. He told me to look behind us and the sight of all the thousands of people packed into the street was inspiring. According to the Liverpool Echo 20,000 people ran in one of the races on the Sunday. We were in corral 7 and there were at least 22 starting pens in the half. It was lovely to have someone to chat to for the 30-45 min we were waiting especially someone from the area who had run the race before. I told him about my first marathon in October and he gave me some great tips on other races nearby. I love how friendly runners are.

Rock n roll liverpool 2017 (37).jpg

start line before filling up with runners

After 500 meters or so of slowly moving up to the start line it was finally our turn to run. Shortly after crossing the timing barriers I heard Ben and Lucy shouting my name. That gave me the push I needed and made all the difference in my energy levels. I was so touched that they came out to see me off especially since Ben was about to run the full marathon!

The first stretch around the docks and unto the main road felt similar to the 5km route but with more music and more supporters. There were no large gaps in the entertainment and it seemed every corner had a new musical surprise. There were rock bands, choirs, orchestras, an Asian drum group outside china town and a jazz band on a balcony that made me feel like I was in New Orleans for a second . I knew there would be music throughout the course but I was truly impressed with the variety of performances which is a lot coming from someone with a Master’s degree in popular music studies.

Rock n roll liverpool 2017 (41)

the main stage at the race village

At around mile 1.5 we hit Mathew Street passing the Cavern Club which was a highlight for me. I’ve been a Beatles fan since I was 8 years old and even wrote my Master’s dissertation on them so their music’s influence on me has been a consistent throughout my life. It’s likely I would still be living in Virginia if the Beatles didn’t exist.

At about mile 3 there was a hill that felt very defeating. I heard lots of people audibly giving up and resorting to walking. I told myself at this point that I wasn’t going to even think about aiming for a time and slowed way down to compensate for the incline. I had gleefully accepted my inevitable PW (personal worst). I heard someone behind me say that that was the only hill on course and that the worst was over which was encouraging. I was still completely apathetic about my speed and just went with a pace that was enjoyable. 

0012After the hill I passed by a lady in a cat’s protection vest who looked like she was struggling a bit. I was inspired by the friendliness Liverpool had shown me so I went up to her and said ‘well done on running for cats protection, I got my cat from them.’ I hope that gave her a bit of a push. 

Since I wasn’t bothered with my time I didn’t feel the need to conserve my energy. I high-fived every kid, smiled at every photographer, thanked every marshal, gave a thumbs up to every band and shot my fist in the air whooping every time someone cheered my name. I found it interesting that in Liverpool the majority of the spectators pronounced my name ‘Dan-ee-ka’ instead of ‘Dan-ih-kuh’ but it doesn’t matter to me, the sentiment is the same and the support is greatly appreciated. 

I enjoyed running through the city center and experiencing all the historical streets of Liverpool but mile 5 onward is where I really fell in love with this race.  I was so surprised with how much of the half marathon was in a park or green space. I’ve never experienced that before from a massive city event like this.

We briefly skimmed the edge of Princes Park for a little less than a kilometer then around mile 5 the route followed straight into the gorgeous Sefton Park. Miles 5-8 were in or around this park which really felt like the meat of the race to me. It was the loveliest green space with lots of spring flowers on the trees. The sun was shinning and it felt like everyone was in a great mood. A lot of this section blurred together in my memory since I was so immersed in my surroundings and happily going with the flow. It felt a bit like my cruise control setting was on and I was sitting back enjoying the ride.7975731368_aa651db43b_o

The morning chill was long gone by now so I took my first water from the next aid station after passing the 10km timing mat. I had skipped over the aid stations up to this point since any sudden stopping can make me feel nauseous but luckily I barely had to slow down to grab a bottle from the first hand I ran by. I dodged flying bottles for the next few meters including my own which bounced back at me. I feel incredibly guilty about misjudging what I thought was a safe toss. Fortunately no one was harmed in the process.

There was a misting shower at one point too which was a god send but I don’t remember any details about where it was in the race. Could be mile 6, could be mile 12, no idea. My brain clearly did not retain that information.

Miles 6 to 7.5 was an out and back course which featured a slight incline on the way out. This would have been a nice point to spot and cheer on other friends running the half if I had any. Looking back at my splits this was my slowest mile and I definitely felt a bit more sluggish during this section. The course narrowed as well though I don’t remember being frustrated that I couldn’t pass anyone. Being stuck behind a slower runner is definitely something  I would have remembered with great intensity.

The out and back loop peaked at Penny Lane which delighted me. They had the Beatles song playing presumably on repeat. I really felt for the marshals as even a Beatles song over and over again for hours on end would drive me crazy. Surprisingly they were  peachy as ever.

It was all downhill after the turn around at Penny Lane. That extra Beatles boost had me soaring carelessly the rest of the way back and before I knew it we were back in the heart of Sefton park again.o.jpg

This section of the park was even more enchanting that the first. It felt more secluded and shaded than the northern section and I once again forgot I was in a race with thousands of other runners. There was a stunning lake to run beside and I became  immersed in the scenery. I felt like I do when I explore a new parks on my own which is when I’m at my most happy and at peace. I’ve certainly never had a moment of zen from a large city race before.

Right as the end of Sefton park was approaching we hit the mile 8 sign. A women in front of me said out loud ‘oh, I thought we were still on mile 6, I never saw the mile 7 sign’ I replied that it must be a pleasant surprise having a whole mile disappear like that.

There was a short section on the road then we followed a downhill ramp into a tunnel under the road. The tunnel was nice and cool and people were chanting inside. I think this might be a British thing I don’t understand but I enjoyed the enthusiasm. The uphill on the other side was hard on the legs but it was so short it hardy made a dent on my pace.

107053508

After the tunnel we ran into another amazing park and under a woodsy railway bridge that looked magical. I’m pretty sure a few gnomes lived there. I just Looked up the name of the park on the map and apparently it’s called Otterspool Promenade. If I’d done my research I could have had the mental image of a synchronized swimming team of fancy otters during my run.  I was still feeling pretty good which surprised me as mile 8 and 9 is usually when I start to struggle. I’m not sure if it was my pacing or the lovely park foliage that gave me this extra energy but I was ecstatic that I was still enjoying the race.

Otterspool Promenade ended with a short steep downhill unto the riverside dock. I accelerated triumphantly down this slope and right past the mile 9 sign. This is when the race really changed for me. I knew from the course map that the rest of the race was a straight line along the river. 4 miles is a long way to go if your struggling and unsure of the terrain.  I felt fine though and knew it was all flat until the end since I walked along this route on my first visit to Liverpool. I looked at my watch and saw my average pace so far was comfortably on track for a sub 2 hour half. All I needed to do was maintain my current pace and I’d succeed. I was overjoyed at this realization and said to myself ‘you got this’.

If I remember correctly mile 9 was full of supporters. Someone brought speakers and was blasting Beatles songs for the runners. There were friendly people on motorcycles giving high-fives who were really pleased I took them up on the offer. It was great to have so much energy from spectators since many of the runners were suffering at this point. It wasn’t powerful, but there was definitely wind blowing in the wrong direction to push against. I was an optimistic ball of puppies and rainbows bouncing along while the majority of my fellow runners were silently plodding through hell.

When we reached mile 10 one man was trying to muster up enthusiasm from the group. He said something about there only being 3 miles left and the reaction was silence. I then responded with a ‘woo’ which sounded sarcastic with the delay and highlighted the collective pain in the air.  At least everyone had a good laugh for a brief moment before returning to their uncommunicative state.

I found serenity in these quiet moments as cheesy as that sounds. There were pleasant stretches where it was just me and the Mersey and nothing else mattered. I tried focusing on my form and was grateful that nothing was aching too badly. I decided to take another glucose tablet at mile 10.5. I usually only take one after I hit 10km but I thought it couldn’t hurt to have the extra fuel. I wasn’t feeling nauseous at all so felt safe to risk it.

Mile 11 to 12 was where I started to finally tire and feel the weight of the race in my legs. This was still an unprecedented improvement to how I have felt at mile 11 in the past. It was miraculous that it took until this point to even begin to feel discomfort. Usually this is where my main goal is to simply finish without vomiting.

The last mile had us turning away from the river onto the street for a mile long detour before returning back to the docks for the finish. That last mile is always tough for me on a half. I looked at my watch and saw that it I did the final mile in under 10 min then I’d finish under 2 hours. I then looked at my current pace and it was about 8:30 so I relaxed a little hoping the end was near. The band along mile 12 was playing the Jimi Hendrix version of All Along the Watchtour as I approached them. I used to cover this song in my very first band so it felt like a fateful rush of nostalgia, bringing back memories of being 14.

With only a kilometer left we turned back to the docks but this time the finish line was in sight. There were mixed emotions as it felt so far away but seeing it meant it was near. I sped up for sure since I started to really suffer and that last half mile hurt. I saw my watch was on 1:58 and I panicked a bit since I was too close now to loose a sub 2hr finish. I didn’t have anything close to a sprint finish in me but I pushed as hard as I could without making myself sick. I had that familiar feeling of not having the energy to fully enjoy the cheers from the crowd and forcing all focus on surviving the next few seconds. Luckily I crossed the line while my watch still said 1:59 and euphoria kicked in.

2017-05-30 13.52.58

apparently I was singing opera when I crossed the finish line. This one’s going straight in the awkward race photo gallery

At this point I had no idea I had just run a PB by 15 seconds. I didn’t even check my time until hours later because the thought of a PB never crossed my mind. I was content enough that my original goal of finishing with enough time to get to my 1 mile race at 1pm became my second sub 2 hour half without even trying.  Moral of the story is never try for anything since logic clearly doesn’t apply to race times. Nothing makes sense anymore! Yay!

Seconds after crossing the finish line I heard someone calling my name and saw that it was my friend Cat who lives in Liverpool. It was really nice to see her and have someone to chat too while making our way to the goodies assembly line. She gave me the fantastic tip that there’s a massive discount on race entries for 2018 in the week following this years race.   I’ve signed up for next years 5km and half already. The Rock n Roll race series’ marketing works wonders on me.

2017-05-28 15.59.40

Cat and me minutes after finishing

After collecting our Lucosade and bananas we were back at the baggage area which was very convenient. I luckily had plenty of time before the mile race started but I still wanted to change my race number ASAP so I could relax and maybe enjoy my free post-race beer. I wondered about the logistics of rechecking my bag for the mile race. The baggage volunteer at my area was incredibly helpful and nice and assured me that it was fine to recheck my bag then pick it up again after the mile race.

After changing my race number the man I chatted to at the beginning came up and asked how I did. It was lovely to see him again and share our accomplishments. Turns out his partner was one of the singers in the choir in Sefton Park. He assured me that I should have no problem with my marathon in October which gave me a confidence boost I definitely needed.

I then rechecked my bag minus my coat and phone and went to go find Lucy who was cheering Ben and the other marathoners. I found out I had won #BattleOfTheDanicas at this point as well so that was icing on the cake.

2017-05-28 22.51.36

I remain the victorious Danica, though if you are a Danica you’ve already won anyway.

1 mile Rock n roll liverpool 2017 (62)

The 1 mile race was an untimed and family friendly loop around the docks.

Lucy was kind enough to hold on to my coat and medals while I ran so I brought my phone along with me for the first time ever. It felt very weird holding something on a start line. I don’t know how people do it!

The start area had large signs that divided the different speed groups. They had walkers, joggers, runners and then fast runners. It was naive of me that I even considered there would be anything other than runners and faster runners. My estimated time put me in the fast runners section which I found very flattering and amusing. There’s a first for everything!Rock n roll liverpool 2017 (70)

There were lots of kids in this race. The start line seemed to be comprised entirely of families with children and people still wearing their half medal. I can’t imagine how annoying it must be to run with a medal on.

This was the first and only race of the weekend where I actually started after the first countdown. The course followed a similar path to the 5km but overall the atmosphere was far more casual. I’m sure there were one or 2 runners who ran with the aim to come in first but this was definitely a ‘fun run’.

Annoyingly I pressed the wrong button on my watch and stopped the run instead of unpausing it. I love my TomTom but the pause feature is it’s only major weakness. Luckily I didn’t miss out on much of the race since the GPS started up quickly.

Even after running a half the mile length felt so short and the race was over in a blink of an eye. The medal didn’t disappoint and is probably my favourite one out of the four. We also got a water bottle after finishing so I was accumulating a nice collection of liquids at this point.

I ended up running back to the marathon finish line partly because it was cold but also to make up for the missing 0.03ish of a mile that my watch missed out on. I’m sure I looked pretty strange jogging after I had just finished a race.  Rock n roll liverpool 2017 (71)

I made it back to echo stadium with plenty of time to cheer Ben as he crossed the finish line to get a marathon PB! Well done Ben!

I finally got my post race beer but didn’t have time to finish it before I needed to leave for my train. I doubt a whole pint would have been good for me anyway. There was a concert that went on until late after the races but sadly I had to head back to London to get ready for my 10km on Monday morning. Next time I’ll definitely sick around for the after party.

Overall the weekend went much better than I could have imagined. I didn’t expect a half marathon PB or to meet so many amazing people, especially Lucy and Ben. I didn’t even feel as exhausted as I thought I would. I felt great! I left Liverpool on a high note and am already looking forward to doing it all again next year. Thanks Liverpool!  2017-05-28 15.04.01.jpg


Review Stats:

5km

Rock n roll liverpool 2017 (17).jpg

Rock n Roll Liverpool 5km medal

Medal– Nice size for a 5km with a really unique color. I am of course partial to the Sgt. Pepper inspired design as well.
Goody Bags–  water, banana and a few other snacks.
Results– chip timed with instant results were on the race app
Baggage Drop– Long wait for security to check everyone’s bags but the actual baggage drop was quick and well organized.
Toilets– I didn’t use them but the lines looked long.
Support/atmosphere–  The atmosphere at the start was amazing but on course there were less supporters. The bands made up for it though.
Start– very well organized.Each wave had plenty of space.
Scenery- The start along the river was pretty and the docks were nice as well. There were a few unispiring bits along the streets though.
Marshals– The one marshal who led the first groups the wrong way obviously looses points but the volunteers in baggage were great.
PB potential– very flat
Value for Money– On the expensive side for a 5km but the medal was great and the stadium finish made it worth it (unless you were in the unlucky groups that had a short course).
Overall Organisation– despite the added security checks everything went smoothly and quickly.

Overall: Having a short course for the fastest 3 groups was pretty disappointing but for the rest of us the race was enjoyable. I would do it again and I hope those that did less than 5km get a significant discount.


Rock n roll liverpool 5km courseRock n roll liverpool 5km elevation


Half Marathon

File 02-06-2017, 01 38 24

Rock n Roll Liverpool Half Marathon

Medal– great design and color. I love the glitter and that it has the date and sites of the city on it. My only criticism is that it is the same size as the 5km and 1 mile medals.
Goody Bags–  water, lucosade, banana, haribo, crisps and a free pint
Results– chip timed with instant results were on the race app and live tracking
Baggage Drop– same as the 5km but with a longer queue for security checks. The volunteers were lovely though. I loved that your bags were right at the finish
Toilets– I didn’t use them so can’t say.
Support/atmosphere– Amazing support by spectators and musicians
Scenery- The parks were stunning and there were very few dull moments.
Start– the start was late but once the first group was off it went smoothly
Marshals– This says it all
PB potential– The only real hill is at mile 3 and the last 4 miles are flat and along the river so its perfect for a PB.
Value for Money– On the expensive side for a 5km but the medal was great and the stadium finish made it worth it (unless you were in the unlucky groups that had a short course).
Overall Organisation– Very well organized. I had no issues at all.

Overall: I absolutely loved this race. The mixture of city sites and pretty parks made this an amazing race to run and that’s before the music is even factored in. It made me feel less guilty about never going to concerts anymore. I will be back next year.


Rock n roll Liverpool half marathon courseRock n roll Liverpool half marathon elevation


1 Mile

Rock n roll liverpool 2017 (72).jpg

Rock n Roll Liverpool 1 mile

Medal– It’s a glittery yellow submarine. The ribbon also has yellow submarines on it. I don’t think I need to say more!
Goody Bags–  just a bottle of water
Results– none as it was not chip timed.
Baggage Drop– none but I was able to use the half marathon baggage from earlier.
Toilets– There were toilets back at the race village that had no queues at this point in the day.
Support/atmosphere– Most people were cheering on the marathon but there were a few spectators.
Scenery- A lot of it was on the road with cars nearby soo it wasn’t the prettiest run.
Start– was well organized by speed. no congestion.
Marshals– nothing to complain about
PB potential– since it’s not timed its not really relevant but it was a flat course
Value for Money– The medal definitely made it worth it for me and it was a fun challenge.
Overall Organisation– Very well organized.

Overall: I had a lot of fun on this ‘fun run’ and am in love with my yellow submarine medal.


Rock n roll Liverpool mile courseRock n roll Liverpool mile elevation

3 thoughts on “Rock n Roll Liverpool 5km, half marathon and 1 mile 2017 Race Review

  1. Pingback: Vitality London 10,000 2017 Race Review | Priest On The Run

  2. Pingback: London 10 Mile 2017 Race Review | Priest On The Run

  3. Pingback: Turks Head 10km 2017 Race Review | Priest On The Run

Leave a comment